I am sitting at my dining room table just having finished my dinner at 10:16pm.  I am eating 1.5 cups of fire roasted tomatoes, 12 ounces of grilled salmon and 1.5 cups of grilled mushrooms, all washed down with32 ounces of whole milk.  The kids and wife are already fast asleep, so it is just me and our Chihuahua Belle sitting in the dining room light.  The reason I am still awake is because I didn’t feel too good earlier so I took a nap and when I woke up it was 7:30pm and I had yet to go to the gym.  So I slapped on my workout clothes and heart rate monitor and drove to Life Time Athletic to hammer out my Monday exercises. Tomorrow is both Valentine’s day (yuck) and far more importantly, my 1 year anniversary with my beautiful wife Roni.  You would think I would have just gone to bed after not feeling good and it being so late, but no.

I realized a long time ago that the concerted efforts I put into bettering myself are most rewarded when it isn’t convenient or easy to go about.  Anyone can go workout in the middle of the day when they have lots of energy and nothing else going on.  It takes discipline and tenacity to drag yourself to a workout when you don’t feel good, you’re super busy all day and a cozy warm bed is calling your name.

Why am I still up?  Well, you see, I still have 900 calories I need to consume to be on point for my daily allotment to achieve my goals.  Since I just ate a late dinner and my stomach is kind of full, I need to wait until it empties a little bit so I can consume my final 900 calorie protein laden meal replacement shake.  Just like Rock Balboa, I use the wonderfully nutritious raw egg as the mainstay of my meal replacements.  6 raw eggs to be exact.  12 ounces of whole milk mixed with a little creatine, a scoop of BCAAs,  some whey protein and a couple scoops of “Muscle Milk” chocolate.  Fire up the hand mixer and “POOF” a fine sipping cognac.  Well, I might be exaggerating that part, but it gets the job done. I can’t forget to take my multi-vitamin and my fish oils too.

I want my body to have all the raw ingredients it needs to repair and grow from my grueling workouts, so I will go make my shake and drink it and head to bed knowing I did what was needed to create the best possible environment for my amazing body to move one step closer to my goals.

Leave a Reply

